News Room | News Articles | Meet the new NTA Deputy Administrators

News Articles

Meet the new NTA Deputy Administrators

  • (By Melvin M. Balis, Perla C. Manzon)
    Attorney Vicente D. Lasam's humble beginnings began in Solana, Cagayan where he graduated from Solana Elementary School in 1964 and secondary education at San Vicente Institute (Solana, Cagayan), where he was awarded Valedictorian.

    He finished his Bachelor of Arts major in Political Science in 1972 at the University of the Philippines Diliman and pursued his Bachelor of Laws degree in 1976 where he ranked 7th (UP Class '76).

    While studying law, Tente, as his colleagues call him, enjoyed college scholarship. He was a member of the Order of the Purple Feather – the official Honor Society of the UP College of Law.

    In 1975, he represented the Philippines in the Annual Philip Jessup International Moot Court Competition held in Washington D.C. U.S.A. He was admitted to the Philippine Bar in 1977.

    He joined the Angara, Abello, Concepcion, Regala and Cruz (ACCRA) immediately after passing the Bar Exams. He likewise held the position, Technical Assistant to the Minister of National Defense, of the Interim Batasang Pambansa. Moreover, he worked as Corporate Secretary and Legal Counsel of the Jacinto Group of Companies. He also became Senior Associate of one of the premier law firms in the country – Barredo, Reyno, and Tomacruz Law Office.

    Atty. Lasam's appointment as Deputy Administrator of the National Tobacco Administration is his first stint in the government service.

    The other new Deputy Administrator, Everin T. Molina, also a lawyer, is a native of Vigan, Ilocos Sur. Just after he passed the Philippine Bar of November, 1986, he had been practicing law, serving as legal counsel to various cooperatives, labor unions, the University of Northern Phlippines, the Roman Catholic Church of Nueva Segovia and private companies.

    At the same time, he had served five (5) terms as Councilor of the City of Vigan during which he was recognized as The Outstanding Councilor of the Philippines 2009 (Regional Winner) by the Junior Chamber International, Philippines, the Philippine Councilors League and Senator Edgardo Angara, for outstanding legislative performance and rendering public service above self, on March 12, 2010, Mandaue City, Cebu, Philippines.

    Atty. Molina had been actively involved in socio-civic programs/services with the Philippine Association of Voluntary Arbitrators, Inc. (PAVA, Inc.); Friedrich Naumann Foundation Alumni Group. He is the Chairman of the Liberal Party of Vigan City and Ilocos Sur Provincial Coordinator, Aquino-Roxas Bantay Balota.
  • back